Daily Writing Prompt: Have you got a code you live by? What are the principles or set of values you actively apply in your life?

DSC_0076blackandwhite

I found this prompt this morning and felt that it was rather relevant to me, so I will address it here.

Although the code I live by has progressed over the years, I do still feel that it’s unbreakable. As a student in high school, my life code was much stricter, as I was gazing upon my successes in the hopes of a state university accepting them too. I cared about many things back then, but my code was to never give in to temptation that would deter me from succeeding and moving forward to a university where I would continue my education and finally receive a degree as a reward for all the blood, sweat, and tears I put into everything I did that contributed to my school-related triumphs.

Now, although I am still set on academic success, my code has shifted to the more personal side of my life: the fulfillment of myself. My code, as of now, is to be exactly who I need to be in this changing world. With that being said, it’s necessary for me to surround myself with those who have the same core values, and the will-power to feel as if they don’t need to change in the view of judgmental eyes. Growing into yourself is a massive step into becoming an adult, and it’s important to realize that in the end of your life, you want to look back on what you did and how you did it and be proud of who you are, rather than dismayed by your malleable nature. I don’t want to give others the chance to change me, because I’ve come too far in order to become the person I am today. I just want to stay true to who I am, at the end of the day.

5 responses to “Daily Writing Prompt: Have you got a code you live by? What are the principles or set of values you actively apply in your life?

  1. “I don’t want to give others the chance to change me, because I’ve come too far in order to become the person I am today. I just want to stay true to who I am, at the end of the day.”

    That is so, so true, really liked this post a lot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

