5 Things I Learned From Living in a Room the Size of a Cardboard Box

IMG_6424

1. When one thing falls out of place, the whole room feels like it’s in shambles. I can live in chaos during the day (I’m a college student. I’m used to being busy), but by the end of the day when I’m cozying up in my bed sheets in the hopes of a good eight hours of continuous slumber, I will lie awake in my 3.5 foot high throne I call a bed with my eyes wide open until everything has found its place. Call me crazy, but I call myself functional, and a little ocd.

2. An unmade bed screws with my head. In this little room I have, the bed takes up half the floor space. It’s right there. I need it made. The moment I step in my doorway, my bed is staring me in the face saying, “are you gonna do me or not?” lmao I had to, I’m sorry. But it practically does. There’s never a moment that goes by in this room where I don’t wish this room were more organized, more structured. No matter how itchy my eyes are, how excruciating my headache is, or how much homework I have taunting me on webcourses, I can’t avoid my bed being made.

3. The closet space is sufficient for a guy, but is horribly unsatisfactory for a girl. Come on, guys. Who ever thought to make the college closets so small, so limited, AND without any form of door? What is this, prison? I want shelves, a door (other than my zebra print shower curtain that I use instead), and shoe racks. I love clothes, and just as equally love shoes and accessories. It’s a crime against humanity to force me to only bring 1/4 of my closet to school. How am I supposed to plan cute outfits without repeating looks every week? I mean, sure. I don’t mind repeating every once in a while, but my college closet has been recycled so hard, I feel like I should be wearing a “reduce, reuse, recycle” symbol on my forehead so no one feels obliged to say “wow, I’ve never seen that top before”. I guess we’re not in Kansas anymore, eh?

4. Only essentials? Everything has potential. They say you should only bring the things you absolutely cannot live without, but they also don’t take into consideration that the majority of the year, you are going to be living there. Not just chilling there every once in a while. This is your home for the next year. So yeah, bring your essentials, but do bring some stuff that you want, too. It shouldn’t all be dish soap and mini fridges.

5. Β Your window will be your new best friend, beside your coffee machine of course. The fluorescent lights in these dorms are excruciating, and lead you, once again, to believe that dorm life resembles that of a prison cell. Don’t fret: there is hope. Although I think the structure of these rooms is astoundingly stupid, I do feel that there is one benefit that will prove crucial to your survival: your window. Random, I know, but hear me out. There are going to be days when you’re studying nonstop and you refuse to put clothes to get fresh air, or to even travel to the library to get some focus space, but you have a huge window in your room for natural light. It takes away from the crappy lab lights that hang overhead, piercing your eye balls while you finish that tedious English homework you’ve been sitting on for a couple of days now. Need fresh air? Open your window. You’d be surprised how nice it is to get fresh air in your apartment room without the dreaded morning dressup. But when you open your window though, unless you wanna be an exhibitionist. clothes (pajamas even) are required. Seriously.

2 responses to “5 Things I Learned From Living in a Room the Size of a Cardboard Box

  1. You are so talented my dear. I love this! Your tone is so inviting, I can see you speaking. And I laughed quite audibly several times. Amazing job darling, keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

