Daily Writing Prompt: What is one thing that you’d like to do before you die?

I’ve always been fond of the idea of creating your own personal bucket list. There’s something about putting it all on paper, or in writing, that makes it official, that makes it as if you have to get it done. Although this prompt says to discuss only one experience I wish to do before I die, I could never narrow it down to one experience, simply because there’s so much I want to do!! So I will provide a list of a couple of the things I’d like to do before I croak!

 

the-grand-canyon

1. Visit the Grand Canyon. Everyone wants to immediately hit the snooze buttonΒ when someone adds the famous canyon to their bucket list because, let’s be honest, it’s on so many peoples’ bucket lists. I get it. But I think it’s incredible how it’s naturally formed and eroded, and would adore getting the opportunity to photograph it myself. I love the outdoors, so I think it’d be right down my alley. Typical or not.

 

languages

2. Learn a different language (other than English). I’ve learned some Spanish, emphasis on some, but it’d be sick to be fluent in another language to not only put on my resume (college student!) but to be able to visit another country and communicate with new people about their own cultures and beliefs.

 

Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 4.07.25 PM

3. Reach at least 1,000 subscribers on both my blog and my Youtube Channel. I’d be so stoked to get to have a large audience that looks forward to what I have to say in the same way that I look forward to seeing posts and videos from the people I follow. It’d be an amazing opportunity to have my voice heard on the regular.

 

we_the_kings

4. Get to hang out with We the Kings. As most of you probably already know, I love the band We the Kings. I follow all of their channels on Youtube, and I listen to their music on a weekly basis. I’ve met them before, but I would love to spend some time with them and actually talk to them in person without the rush of a signing tent or end-of-concert escape route run-in. It’d be cool to get to know their personalities in real life, and not just their stage personas, although I do feel that they don’t “act” on stage like many other bands tend to do.

 

helping-hand-1

5. Do something life-changing for someone else. It wouldn’t matter what it was, but knowing that I could change someone else’s life for the better would give me a sense of purpose in my own life. I hope some day I’ll have that kind of significance to someone else, but until then, my little random acts of kindness I do on a daily basis will suffice.

Leave a Reply

