Failure: Is it Really as Detrimental as it Seems?

Fear-of-failure

We dread it, we avoid it, we let it define our self worth. Failure is an experience that can easily drag anyone down into a pothole. So why do we let it take a hold of our lives? Why do we hand it our power, wrapped in a box and bow, so easily? Why does it dictate what we believe about ourselves?

We, as people, want to be a “jack of all trades”. Meaning that we, ideally, would like to be the best at everything immediately. The first time we try something, we hope that we’re “passable”, and automatically “decent” at it because that is how we are programmed. We don’t want to accept failure at a first shot. The truth is, failure is inevitable if you’re living, and taking on new opportunities as they come. Even if you’re hiding in your room refusing to experience the world around you, failure is still inevitable. It’s natural to fail every once in a while.

Personally, I am afraid of failing very few things. I’ve spent my whole life trying to experience everything. I’ve explored what feels like every creative outlet known to man, and I refuse to be afraid to visualize what I can do. I’ve failed before. I’ve done things, new things, and done horribly. But I never labeled myself as a “failure” for not being “great” at everything. And you know what? I don’t consider pushing myself to sink or swim a failure. I don’t consider ultimately sinking after struggling to swim a failure. I don’t consider developing my skills that I’ve been unsatisfactory in,Β in the past a failure. You know why? Because the only way you can fail is if you try, realize that you’re not as “successful” as you thought you would be, and choose to give up. I’m not going to give up on my dreams, and neither should you.

Failure shouldn’t beat you down from your high horse. It shouldn’t rip your desires out of your hands. If there are experiences and defining moments waiting on the horizon for you or you see potential in yourself despite your moments of weakness, you should be able to hold tightly onto those things that define your life purpose as if your life depends on it, which in this case, it does. Don’t give failure the power to destroy the light in your eyes. Only you can choose to keep going after disappointment takes hold.

2 responses to “Failure: Is it Really as Detrimental as it Seems?

  1. I recently did a Quit List for my weekly Top 5 Friday and fearing failure was in the mix! You hit the nail on the head with this one..great read πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

