Strange to Think That the Roles have Reversed.

4278_finals8

As a kid, parents and relatives will always tell you that “school should come first”. School should always come first, before socialization, leisure, and everything else. I find that agreeable. But what about when your obligations for school take away your ability to enjoy leisure and to pursue your own activities? What is the wise advice to give in that situation?

As most of us college students realize, finals week is looming around the corner, and we’re all saddling up to get our acts together for those big, stressful, coffee-filled days. But as those days approach, crawling closer by the hour, I can feel my anxiousness rising within me. It’s not even because of the exams, because believe it or not, I don’t suffer half as much during exam weeks in comparison to those who surround me, with their racked up history courses, 18 credit hours, and needy minimum wage jobs barking at them to keep their hours in check. Now it may seem minimal to others who may not relate, but during these weeks, all of my creative freedom and inspiration is diminished. I go from a right brainer to a hardcore left brainer in a few days, which throws off my ability to write, for one thing. I can feel it right now, actually. I spent my whole morning staring, glaring at the empty post form in front of me, and weirdly, I did not know what to say. When have the roles reversed? When has school begun to project its fury upon my creative outlets?

This has become a common thing for me, by the end of the semesterΒ and the completion of each college year specifically. By then, I’m just trying to crank out the last few projects and assignments and, if all goes well, exceed during exam week. It’s like my creative pursuits no longer exist in my world. Which leads me to my next point, for those who read these regularly and count on my daily posts. Please forgive me if I become absent in this coming week, week and a half. My head will be so far into my textbooks that I won’t be able to do anything else until my work and courses feel complete and I am satisfied with the effort I’ve put forth. My efforts will be contributed full-force to my education and not much else. However, despite taking courses in this coming Summer as well as working at the gym I’ve been longing to return to since I’ve left for sophomore year, once I finish my courses for this semester, I will have large amounts of time and inspiration to throw onto this page for you guys. I’ll definitely have a lot more to say, seeing as how lately I’ve resorted to keeping my mouth shut about certain situations in my life that I am dying to discuss on here once I’ve escaped this….living situation I’ve found myself in. Trust me when I tell you, I will be an open book once the storm has passed.

Leave a Reply

