Do you have a moment that you consider the most influential on your writing?

The moment that I found to be the most influential on my writing was when my Journalism teacher in high school used my work as an example to the other students, and explained that my piece was what soulful, insightful writing looked like, and that others should take note of my technique in order to succeed in their writing pursuits, and ultimately the course. I was shocked by the fact that he would put me on a pedestal in that way because he had often been a tough teacher to please, and I had always cared tremendously about what he thought of my work. It gave me such confidence in my writing that I began refining my skills and blogging, pursuing writing as a passion rather than an assignment. He gave me the encouragement I needed to become better at what I love, and I honestly could never repay him for all the other wonderful things he’s done for me in the past as well. He’s always been a great influence on my perception of writing and my self-confidence in my methods of visual and written expression.

15 responses to “Do you have a moment that you consider the most influential on your writing?

  1. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    My experience was much the same way with my 12th grade teacher. She inspired me a lot. Thanks for taking part in the challenge and for the memory share. -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please comment on their post.

    Like

  2. I’m glad you had that moment of inspiration, Mandi. Nice memory.

    Like

  3. I couldn’t even pick a moment for myself… Haha.

    Very thought-provoking piece, though!

    Like

    • It wasn’t easy, so I certainly understand what you mean! But having someone in my life that I looked up to so much, tell me that my writing was not only satisfactory but well done and that I need to continue really brought everything into perspective. It was a push in the right direction, that’s for sure.
      Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      Like

      • No need for thanks. I didn’t do anything!

        Writing was always an escape for me as child. My childhood could be considered rough by some, but I’m not here to whine about that. Regardless, poetry and short story-writing (as well as reading!) provided me with a hobby to help me face the world. My writing became better and better through continuous use and practice. It was a no-brainer for me when I got into college. I naturally excelled at it and easily obtained a journalism degree. Now, I am trying to make the transition into the world of business to see how I can apply my writing here.

        I admittedly don’t care for the reporting and interviewing aspects of journalism… just the writing. Lol. So, here I am.

        Of course, you didn’t ask me for any of this information, but, hey. This is life. Surprise!

        Liked by 1 person

      • The best surprises are…well, surprises. Thank you for sharing your experience with me!
        Writing is one of the greatest ways to combat the stress of everyday life, so I totally understand how you picked it up. When I seriously picked it up, it too was a pretty rough time for me. But with rough times comes inspiration, so although I don’t recommend the suffering portion, there is some benefit to bad experiences.
        I actually was thinking of pursuing journalism later on as well for the writing aspect of it too, weirdly enough, but as of now, I am a Digital Media Website Design major, which means it can basically go any which way once I graduate. I guess I’ll know by the end of this journey, and this blog will surely know about it as well πŸ˜‰

        Like

      • I’ll have to check in form time to time and see how that goes. There are many degrees don’t pigeonhole you down one track. Journalism has ensured that my core is in writing. Writing is in every industry. I write bids and do marketing for government contracts at a giant Maritime Logistics Corporation. I never thought I would be doing this when I was in school. Very cool stuff. Your situation is similar. Every company and organization in the world has a website, basically. You could end up anywhere.

        Like

  4. Your post was great in reminding me about my 7th grade high school teacher who inspired me to write in my own voice. It is truly a great thing to write about and remember our inspirers. Please keep writing more posts like this. Sincerely, Lidia Prawdomowni

    Like

  5. My High School English teacher felt that way about my writing too. She took some of my papers to her professor at her university. She was a huge encouragement to….but life got in the way, the way it does at times…so I put off writing for many years, oh sure I would journal etc. Now this is my time to get with it and write and seek to improve. Thank you for sharing…brought back old memories, that feel good!!!

    Like

  6. I’d written when I was in secondary and high school, but fell out of it when real life and bill-paying took precedence soon afterward. About ten years later, I finally enrolled in college. On the last day of my first semester, my English 101 professor pulled me aside at the end of class and told me she thought I had a future as a professional writer. Totally blew me away. It took me a few more years, but I eventually started writing “for real.” So thanks for the inspiration, Dr. Griffiths!

    Like

Leave a Reply

