The Truth About Settling for “Realities” Over Dreams

So many of my peersย come to me with the same thoughts and feelings about how they want to pursue their dreams. They have so many ideas for what they want to do with their lives, but the lack of support they receive from family, especially parents, becomes a breaking point when the words are to be put to action. I, myself, struggled with this feeling. All of my life, I had the full intent to do something artistic. Of course, when you’re an artist, though, the responses that you receive when you explain that you want to pursue something “artistic” are less than satisfactory. Always the same shrugs, nose crinkles, head shakes, and sighs. I understand the discouragement that others in my situation have experienced. It took me some time to evaluate what I enjoyed doing other than artwork, and I came to the conclusion that I am skilled and find great fascination in the workings of the computer. It’s technology and artistry combined into one beautiful machine! That was when I knew that I could have it my way, and still get paid enough to be able to put food on the table.

Not all of our dreams are enough to make a living off of, unfortunately, which is discouraging at the least. But like my situation, though, when there is a will, there’s a way. If you want to pursue something that wouldn’t necessarily be successful in itself immediately (or would be something that would require more time to take off than a position in, say, an established company), evaluate how you can pursue it and still be able to pay for your necessities. As for my own experience, I’ve always wanted to break into the art world. Therefore, I am studying a major that is both practical and creative, while continuing my own creative pursuits on the side. Everything takes time, but knowing what you want and how to get it takes the “work” out of it. If you really want something, anything is possible if you put your focus on it.

When you’re choosing what to do with your life, don’t let the judgment of others cloud your own judgment. If you feel that you can do what you want to do and succeed, then it’s important that you do just that. They will not be living your life. You will. You’ll be going to work everyday. You want to make sure that what you dedicate your life to is an occupation that feels less like work and more like something you love. Don’t settle for something that doesn’t keep your heart happy by the end of the day.

What can you do to make your dreams a reality, and what stepping stones do you have to follow to get where you’d like to go in the future?

What is it about your goal occupation that makes you desire it, and how can practicality come into play to ensure your success?

Leave a Reply

