Daily Prompt: Are You A Giver or a Taker? Discuss the Concept.

Often it is said that there is strength in numbers. But what about the strength in ourselves? There are some strong characters in our population that find it in them to maintain themselves as well as the goodness of others, often selflessly. They are the strongest, but they also work the hardest for the greater good. Some do their deeds as a single entity, while others, like I had stated prior, find strength when surrounded by others with alike mindsets, but in either situation, the same chain reaction applies. Some are mothers, leaders, friends, and coworkers. Some are strangers to you and I, but mean the world and more to the ones they bring under their wing. I believe that most people are either one or the other. I have come to know many people in my life on a deeply personal level, and have come to the conclusion that my relationships and interactions involve of a variety of people that fall into either category. There are the ones that shamelessly take what they can from you, from the friendship, from every open resource available to them. And then there are the ones that I prefer, the givers, the ones that will gladly do the dirty work that others don’t want to do out of their own free will, because they know it will lift a physical and maybe even a psychological load off of another’s shoulders. I can be selfish, too, but if I had to say whether I were one or the other, I would be, hands-down, a giver. The amount of time that I spend each day thinking of others is probably significantly more than anyone would consider I contribute, but the actions that come from these thoughts grant others better days through the actions that follow my inspiration to do good. They give them hope for humanity on the occasion, and at the least, a smile that can lead them throughout the day. Giving my strength, love, and support to others even inspires them to want to do the same for another sometimes, which makes the purpose of the original act so much more fulfilling. Positive chain reactions give hope. They reinforce our bond with other beings and prove that we are capable and willing to give, even in times when we don’t receive. I often find myself getting hurt by others because their purposes in life don’t contribute to the greater good, but I know that there are plenty of us out there giving ourselves for the fraction of the population that need someone to protect and nurture them and even to those who have not earned our love. There are enough of us to maintain my faith. My faith in the givers demolishes my disappointment in those who only wish to take.

Leave a Reply

