Random thought: My generation, or many of us, have grown up having to make everything a sales pitch

“I want to hang out with my friend because…”
“I want to study within this major because…”
“I don’t have plans today because…”
Like seriously? I’d love to not have to “sell” everything I do. When do I hit the age in which I can utilize the “because I said so” excuse?

8 responses to “Random thought: My generation, or many of us, have grown up having to make everything a sales pitch

  1. It’s because of education I think. Think of the prompts on the FCAT or the SAT. “Explain your reasoning with examples.” is a staple in our education. It seeps into our every day life, whether we like it or not. We’re forced to explain ourselves, as if the reasoning behind our actions will somehow make everyone else understand us completely. There’s no solid answers anymore, even when we apologize we provide a justification, even if one isn’t really needed. The day that our generation learns to say “Just cause.” is the day that we will stop stressing over every little thing people say and do. “Why do you like that show?” “I just do.” “Why do you listen to that music?” “I just do.” “Why?” “Why not?”

    Even this answer is a sales pitch of the reasoning our generation has. I could have just said “We just do.”

    Like

    • It’s so true. I feel like I am constantly providing reasons, rather than letting my actions speak for itself. And you’re right. The standardized tests and educational standards we are accustomed to force us to find reasons for our actions and choices. Nothing can go without reasoning.

      Like

  2. Unfortunately the “because I said so” typically coincidences with a mortgage, horrid job, and sagging of things, etc. Enjoy every age and stage.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

