Pet Peeves: The “Make or Break” Point for Friendships

funny-grumpy-angry-cat-ready-to-lose-hand-pics

The truth of the matter is you can either avoiding seriously pissing people off, or be that annoying jerk that can’t bear to chew without their mouth wide open. Here is my list of all-time pet peeves that could easily put a friendship to its truest test.

1. I’ve introduced this prior, but I will introduce it again. Chewing with your mouth open is not cute. The snapping sound goes through my soul. Your parents told you before, but I am telling you again: chewing with your mouth open is one of the rudest things you can do. The food will still taste the same if you keep the trap shut while you chew.

2. People who refuse to give gas money. I get it. You’re a kid, I’m a kid. We don’t have a lot of money to throw around. But if I’m giving rides every single time we hang out and you can’t bear to part with a couple bucks for gas, I feel like a volunteered chauffeur. Be a doll and spare a few?

3. Using to use so much that you’re USED to using. What I mean by that is taking advantage of situations in which you’ll be the only one benefitting, simply because the option is there. When someone gives and gives while others take and take, eventually the resources (and patience, for that matter) are going to run dry fast, and there will be nothing left to give (shocker, I know). Friendships are about mutual respect and generosity. If I’m gonna kiss your feet, quite frankly, you’re going to end up kissing mine, too.

4. Ordering food at a restaurant, taking a bite, and deeming it “not fit” for you, sending it back to the kitchen. Do you know what they do with that food? Usually (and I say usually, because I feel like some weird places “recycle” the food), but USUALLY, the food ends up being thrown out. Something perfectly good for someone else, but not perfectly good for you. There are people starving. Do you think they’d be refusing that plate?

5. Borrowing anything and “forgetting” to give it back. “Oh yeah, I’ll give it back to you the next time I see you”. Do you know how many times I’ve heard that? Seriously, if you’re gonna borrow something, return it once you’re done. if you legitimately don’t think you’ll be able to part with it after those few days of intimate bonding time with the said object, then ask me where I got it so I can direct you in the right direction toward getting one of your own.

6. Not saying “please” and “thank you”. It’s repulsive. I was brought up to have manners. In other peoples’ homes, I will always say “please” and “thank you” for whatever is given to me. If I like it, or I don’t like it. It doesn’t matter. I am sure to exercise my etiquette in either case. Those who are not outwardly (and inwardly) thankful are probably the worst on this entire list. You have been warned. Do not cross me.

What are your pet peeves, and why do they grind your gears?

One response to “Pet Peeves: The “Make or Break” Point for Friendships

Leave a Reply

