HRChallenge: “Awakening by Sirens”

dark-forest-4_00450655

The sound of sirens echoes through the empty corridors of my abode, booming threateningly in my ear drums. “Are you awake? Do you hear the sirens wailing? Get up, my fair commoner. Your day has begun,” the winds hiss faintly.Β My work apparel is strewn across the floor on my bed side, and I begin to creep to the edge of my bunk with the hopes of not causing a stir, positive that I amΒ the only worker not yet active at her station. One of my greatest felonies yet so far. The guards could hear even the slightest movement, the faintest sound. They are waiting for the next victim they can “justly” torture. Bloodthirsty. Every pin drop, every inhale taken hungrily from the outside world. Only our supreme Master allows their animalistic behaviors to arise, believing that only those who disturb the well-oiled machine deserve the greatest of punishments. However, anything that cuts the silence that fills this everyday existence is eligible for what is believed to be eternal pain and suffering. No one can verify this, of course, because those who experience such things are obliterated. The world is their highly-regulated, obedient oyster, that has had it’s only pearl reaped for the sake of what they believe to be “the greater good”. “Greater good”. Ha. How I long for the days when I could exercise my rights as a human, to express what lies boiling underneath the surface. How I long for the days when I was real, when I wasn’t just a plastic “product” of their flawless mold, nothing but submissive blood and bones.

8 responses to “HRChallenge: “Awakening by Sirens”

  1. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    That was poetic. I enjoyed reading it and thanks for taking the time to take part in the challenge! The second part of the challenge is to destroy your city. Let me know if you decide to take part! -OM
    Note: Comments disabled here, please comment on their post.

    Like

  2. fucking awesome!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

