Arcade Epiphanies: Sometimes You Have to Regress to Progress

homepage_games

 

Tonight, instead of spending my night cuddling in bed with my boyfriend like we often do (as he is usually tired out from work, and so am I from busy days), we took a date trip out to Gameroom for a couple of hours. I haven’t felt that alive in a very long while. I had been stuck in a rut, spending the last few days essentially locked in my room, barely eating or moving in the hopes of getting ahead in my online classes in order to be able to successfully enjoy my upcoming week-long vacation that starts this weekend. Getting to go somewhere new with the person I love gave me such childlike (hence the reference to regressing!) wonder, and I am even more excited for our next date. To think that a trip to an arcade could be so thrilling and awakening to the heart! We were filled with laughter as we navigated through digital jungles with plastic, colored guns, and couldn’t keep our eyes off the neon puck as it passed from one side of the air hockey table to the other, sliding faster than we could follow, our eyes meeting, acknowledging the challenge. I think he needed that stress relief just as much as I did. It made me realize just how important it is to make time for me, too, when life is throwing curveballs and I’m starting to feel overwhelmed. Sometimes you just need to take a big step back.

As for you guys, try to break out of your habits. I know we all fall into habits and patterns that seem safe to us, but we need stimulation, at least from time to time, in order to remain happy. We need to discover, to create, to grow. Our world is full of new experiences, and there isn’t enough time for us to not give these opportunities a chance. Try something new tomorrow. Pick up a friend, your love, or an adventurous acquaintance and go somewhere you both haven’t been. The impact it has on your heart and mind, the thrill of new experiences, will probably astound you, too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

