10 Songs Running Continuously Through My Mind This Week

1. Magic! – “Rude”

MAGIC-Rude-2013-1200x1200

I love the electronic reggae (weird combination, right? BUT IT WORKS SO WELL) feeling of this song, and the meaning of it hits home in several ways….It’s a very sweet song. He’s going the traditional route and asking the father for his daughter’s hand in marriage, gets rejected for permission to marry her, but refuses to back down. This is how I’d hope it’d be if it were come to that cirumstance. Love should not be stopped by outside forces if it’s strong enough standing on its own.

“Saturday morning jumped out of bed and put on my best suit
Got in my car and raced like a jet, all the way to you
Knocked on your door with heart in my hand
To ask you a question
‘Cause I know that you’re an old fashioned man yeah yeah

‘Can I have your daughter for the rest of my life? Say yes, say yes
‘Cause I need to know
You say I’ll never get your blessing till the day I die
Tough luck my friend but the answer is no!

Why you gotta be so rude?
Don’t you know I’m human too
Why you gotta be so rude
I’m gonna marry her anyway”

2. Birdy – “Not About Angels”

500x500

Birdy has one of the most extraordinary voices I’ve heard yet, and her songs always have such a deep, heartfelt meaning. The combination of her voice and the thought that goes into her songs could easily induce tears. Absolutely beautiful.

“We know full well there’s just time
So is it wrong to toss this line?
If your heart was full of love
Could you give it up?
‘Cause what about, what about angels?
They will come, they will go, make us special
Don’t give me up
Don’t give…
Me up
How unfair, it’s just our love
Found something real that’s out of touch
But if you’d searched the whole wide world
Would you dare to let it go?
‘Cause what about, what about angels?
They will come, they will go, make us special
Don’t give me up
Don’t give…
Me up
‘Cause what about, what about angels?
They will come, they will go, make us special
It’s not about not about angels, angels”

3. Hoodie Allen – “No Interruption”

527316_10150639893703314_34132013313_9417610_1157696788_n

I love the aggressive,taking absolutely no crap feel of this song. I recently got into Hoodie and this song is a no-brainer when I’m making playlists from now on. He’s got an interesting style. I’m not usually into rap, but he’s one of the few exceptions.

“Imma do shit that just piss them off
Say you never heard me it’s your loss.
They bitin’ on my freestyles.
They tell me make my money
Frontin’ on that weed style.
I tell ‘em I be too old for it
And I gave my brother my ID.
She independent but these bitches never find me.
I hope they don’t find him, though.
‘Cause they be knocking on my door
Now they looking through my window.
Tell me what you really want from me,
Point blank no discussion.
Close mouth, close mouth, ow.
I give it to you No Interruption.
And tell me one time that you want me.
I promise that I won’t say nothing.
Shi-shut it up, shi-shi-shut it up.
I’ll give it to ya, No Interruption.”

4. Sia – “Chandelier”

sia chandlier square flat_0

Her voice in this song is so raspy and sexy! (Am I right?!) I thought this was originally by Rihanna, because she sounded somewhat similar, but as I listened to it more, I figured it out on my own that it wasn’t her. I think the song is one of those that brings to light that you should live life to the fullest and not give up when times get tough (at least that’s how I interpret it). It’s a chill, pretty sounding song. She’s got a powerful voice!

“Throw ’em back ’til I lose count
I’m gonna swing from the chandelier, from the chandelier
I’m gonna live like tomorrow doesn’t exist
Like it doesn’t exist
I’m gonna fly like a bird through the night, feel my tears as they dry
I’m gonna swing from the chandelier, from the chandelier
But I’m holding on for dear life, won’t look down, won’t open my eyes
Keep my glass full until morning light, ’cause I’m just holding on for tonight
Help me, I’m holding on for dear life, won’t look down, won’t open my eyes
Keep my glass full until morning light, ’cause I’m just holding on for tonight
On for tonight”

5. Sia – “I’m In Here”

unnamed (1)

This was the very first song I heard by Sia, and I fell completely in love. When I heard “Chandelier”, I didn’t realize it was also Sia! You learn something new every day! This song is horribly sad, but it’s relatable. There are times when we all feel like we aren’t being heard and feel almost isolated from the rest of the world, begging for someone to acknowledge who we are, and that we’re still there. Another song where her voice pulls the weight of the song so victoriously.

“I’m in here, can anybody see me?

Can anybody help?
I’m in here, a prisoner of history
Can anybody help?

Can’t you hear my call?
Are you coming to get me now?
I’ve been waiting for you to come rescue me
I need you to hold
All of the sadness I can not, living inside of me

I’m in here, I’m trying to tell you something
Can anybody help?
I’m in here, I’m calling out but you can’t hear
Can anybody help?

Can’t you hear my call?
Are you coming to get me now?
I’ve been waiting for you to come rescue me
I need you to hold
All of the sadness I can not, living inside of me

I’m crying out, I’m breaking down
I am fearing it all, stuck inside these walls
Tell me there is hope for me
Is anybody out there listening?

Can’t you hear my call?
Are you coming to get me now?
I’ve been waiting for you to come rescue me
I need you to hold
All of the sadness I can not, living inside of me

Can’t you hear my call?
Are you coming to get me now?
I’ve been waiting for you to come rescue me
I need you to hold
All of the sadness I can not, living inside of me

I’m in here, can anybody see me?

Can anybody help?”

6. Imagine Dragons – “Nothing Left to Say”

maxresdefault

This song projects the thought that one should keep moving forward and not look back on their past. Looking forward gives hope for a better future. Imagine Dragons was one of the very best concerts I’ve been to! They actually sound better live than they do on the cd, which is a refreshing thing!

“Who knows how long
I’ve been awake now?
The shadows on my wall don’t sleep
They keep calling me
Beckoning…
Who knows what’s right?
The lines keep getting thinner
My age has never made me wise
But I keep pushing on and on and on and on”

7. Christina Perri – “Human”

christina-perri-human-650-430

The radio, unfortunately, has latched on to this little number which totally sucks, but it’s a fantastic song! This song reminds me of when I’m having a rough day and I feel like everything is working against me, so I fake a smile and try to get through it without breaking down. I thought the line about being a “good machine” was absolutely perfect and relevant.

“I can hold my breath
I can bite my tongue
I can stay awake for days
If that’s what you want
Be your number one

I can fake a smile
I can force a laugh
I can dance and play the part
If that’s what you ask
Give you all I am

I can do it
I can do it
I can do it

But I’m only human
And I bleed when I fall down
I’m only human
And I crash and I break down
Your words in my head, knives in my heart
You build me up and then I fall apart
‘Cause I’m only human”

8. Say Anything – “Alive with the Glory of Love”

download

Let’s just say I’ve liked (LOVED) Say Anything for a very, very, very long time. Just perfect. This is like the music from my middle school years that I want to hold onto forever. One of the first songs that seriously meant something to me was by Say Anything!!

“When I watch you, I wanna do you right where you’re standing (yeah)
Right on the foyer, on this dark day, right in plain view (oh yeah)
Of the whole ghetto. The boots stomp meadows, but we ignore that (yeah)
You’re lovely, baby. This war is crazy. I won’t let you down (Oh no no)

No, I won’t let them take you, won’t let them take you
Hell no no, oh no, I won’t let them take you, won’t let them take you
Hell no no.

No, oh no no no!

And when our city, vast and shitty, falls to the axis (yeah)
They’ll search the buildings, collect gold fillings, wallets and rings (oh yeah)
But Ms. Black Eyeliner, you’d look finer with each day in hiding (oh yeah)
Beneath the wormwood, oooh, love me so good.
They won’t hear us screw away the day. I’ll make you say:

(Alive! Alive!
Alive with love, alive with love tonight)

No, I won’t let them take you, won’t let them take you
Hell no no, oh no, I won’t let them take you, won’t let them take you
Hell no no.”

9. Lee Brice – “I Drive Your Truck”

IDriveYourTruck

The first time I heard this song, I totally bawled! I’ll admit it! It’s such a sad but sentimental song. Give it a listen (and bring some tissues).

“I drive your truck
I roll every window down
And I burn up
Every back road in this town
I find a field, I tear it up
Til all the pain’s a cloud of dust
Yeah, sometimes I drive your truck

I leave that radio playing
That same ole country station where ya left it
Yeah, man I crank it up
And you’d probably punch my arm right now
If you saw this tear rollin’ down on my face
Hey, man I’m tryin’ to be tough
And momma asked me this morning
If I’d been by your grave
But that flag and stone ain’t where I feel you anyway”

10. 311 – “Two Drops in the Ocean”

unnamed

Such a chill song…I listen to this one on repeat and it never gets old.

“Thinking of you
It all comes in view
I believe we came from the same cloud
Two drops in the ocean
Tell me again
The story of when we..
..we will be together one day..We’re two of a kind
Forever we’ve been combined
Though the current will pull us apart
Two drops in the ocean
You are part of me
The other side of the sea
And we will be together one day..Hey hey
What can I say?
I swim your way
Though the tide pull us away
I ask you
What you gonna do?
Oceans apart
But I know no one else will do
Two drops in the ocean
Just go with the motion dearWe’ll meet again
From two rivers that dealt on two shore
Two drops in the oceanFall into me
Dissolve in the sea
The boundaries between, they are nothing
But love we have, the only real thing..yeahThere is a stone wall
Around your heart
Nothin left now to do but to start
Chippin away
Day by day
Until we see it break apart
Hear me talkin ’bout
Let it be known, it can be done
Bit by bit and one by one
If the two of us try from both the two sides
Until we see the sun
Your phenomenal

Two drops in the ocean
Just go with the motion..

A lot of fish in the sea..
..not for me
You’re somethin’ of a different kind
The rest evaporate, but you stay in my mind

There is a stone wall
Around your heart
Nothin left now to do but to start
Chippin away
Day by day
Until we see it break apart
Hear me talkin ’bout
Let it be known, it can be done
Bit by bit and one by one
If the two of us try
From both the two sides
Until we see the sun
Your phenomenal

Hey hey
What can I say?
I swim your way
Though the tide pull us away
I ask you
What you gonna do?
Oceans apart
But I know no one else will do
Two drops in the ocean
Just go with the motion
Two drops in the ocean dear..”

 

What songs are on your mind lately?

5 responses to “10 Songs Running Continuously Through My Mind This Week

  1. I love Sia’s “Breathe Me.” That is where I first encountered her. Lately I am enjoying Jaymay (Gray or Blue) and Massive Attack (Angel). Also William Orbit (You Know Way Too Much About Flying Saucers) and Ratatat (Wildcat). Throwing in some Kate Nash (OhMyGod) on occasion and my friend introduced me to Cocteau Twins which, although they are no longer together, I am quite in love with (favorites are Evangeline & Oil of Angels).

    Like

    • I am going to be listening to all of these, because other than Sia, I am COMPLETELY unfamiliar. I always like those moments! 😀
      And another I should’ve added to the list was Julia and Angus! They’re a great pair!

      Like

      • I am going to listen to the ones you posted that I am unfamiliar with as well. Some of the ones I posted are older, but you still might like them. Christina Perri & Birdy performed here last month and I am *so bummed* that I did not go. I wanted a friend to go with me and she was, then she wasn’t, and it all fell apart. Lesson learned: When you like an artist, just go, even if it is alone! At the time, I wasn’t familiar with Birdy. Great voice!

        Like

  2. Ohhh lately I’ve been all about Bastille. I saw them in concert in May and they just…blew my mind. I bought their album Bad Blood and I’ve had a love affair with every song on it but am currently obsessed with “These Streets” and “Oblivion”.
    Their songs describe the human experience so well. They ask you questions in their music, real ones that you should try to answer for yourself.

    Radio song most on my mind rn: “Stay with Me” – Sam Smith

    Like

    • You know, I really need to listen to them. I’ve only heard the one song that the radio has caught a hold of, but maybe I’ll give them some time tonight! I love songs with lyrics that make the listener really think and relate to it on a personal level. Thank you for telling me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

