Mandirito’s Beauty Testimonials: I Have Found BorderLINE Perfection and it Goes by the Name of Maybelline New York Eye Studio!

Mandirito’s Beauty Breakdown: Maybelline New York’s Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner

Applying Eyeliner-3

From the mere age of 11 years old (many, many years ago), eyeliner has been a necessity to complete my everyday look. It’s actually the only thing I wear when I am keeping my face otherwise natural, besides my daily SPF 30 by Neutrogena. So naturally, I’ve been in search of the best one I could afford to buy regularly if need be. In addition, I had several issues with the eyeliners I had been using that I was hoping could be addressed more efficiently by a better product from a different brand:

liner2

1. Most of the eyeliners I had been using were in a pencil format which you’d think would be helpful in order to draw in an even line around or above both eyes. It was helpful for that purpose, but if I were to carry it around in my purse, I would need a sharpener as well, along with an accessible garbage can wherever I was going. It’s a hassle to have to sharpen them almost every time in order to get a clean line.

51837801

2. Eyeliners smear like face paint within an hour of applying them, and I think that’s also due to my mixed/oily skin. It’s inevitable. I don’t want to have to sit with a mirror in front of my face to make sure that my makeup isn’t running in places that it doesn’t belong. Does anyone, really?

image

3. There are variations of colors for basic, everyday eyeliners but I could never find one that didn’t look like mime makeup when applied because the shade was so harsh in contrast with my olive skin and blue/green eyes. You know, the deep, intense blacks and “browns” that also look pretty dark… those don’t work very well on me. I don’t want to look like I got my face painted, and I doubt that that’s the ultimate point. It’s about enhancing the natural features of the individual using the product, not drawing them on.

After many trials and errors, I came across what I thought was going to be another cosmetic failure. I was pleasantly surprised to know that this wasn’t the case for the first time in a very long while! I had come across it while browsing my local Target’s extensive makeup aisle and thought it would be a great opportunity to try something new for a change. When I arrived at home, I had immediately removed it from the package and was confused for a moment, as it had two parts: a brush and a container with solid pigment. It felt so foreign. But then I realized that the brush was meant to dip in the little glass container in order to apply the makeup, and that the brush itself wasn’t the product, a fair assumption for a pencil user.

IMG_0599

 

Pictured above: Maybelline New York’s EyeStudio Gel Liner in Brown on yours truly!

The Verdict: I had worn the new eyeliner during the entirety of a busy, nonstop day running around with the little kids I was taking care of, and not only did it stay put just as I had applied it that morning, but it was as vibrant and untouched as the moment I had put it on! It’s a miracle product for someone like me who loves subtle-colored eyeliner that makes your eyes pop rather than detracts from their natural hues. I got the eyeliner in brown, but there are grays and blacks available as well for those of you who prefer the greyscale. I find that the brown, whether applied more intensely or less intensely, meshes well with my skin tone and brings forward the color of my eyes. No other eyeliner could even compare to Maybelline New York’s Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner! I’d recommend it to everyone and their sister!

2 responses to “Mandirito’s Beauty Testimonials: I Have Found BorderLINE Perfection and it Goes by the Name of Maybelline New York Eye Studio!

  1. I am going to try it. I am the same way re: eyeliner being my #1 choice outside of my moisturizer (mine is Oil of Olay sensitive skin SPF 15). But it’s always melting and redistributing itself, as you mentioned, and I’m not fond of the raccoon look. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

