Love Is…

…Giving me a bite of your burrito bowl when I know you’re internally begging me to decline.

…Donating the one napkin you have at the dinner table at a restaurant to your messy partner.

…Leaving notes around the house that make me equal parts endeared and nauseous.

…Handling my heart as gently as if it were your own.

…Setting all aside to hear what I have to say, even if it’s not in your favor and it’s not what you want to hear.

…Pushing yourself to force a laugh out of your partner even at the expense of your dignity in public.

…Cooking a meal that you know will cut into your Netflix time so I can come home to a meal on the table.

…Smiling for me when I feel like the weight of my day has left me with a permanent frown.

…Kissing me on the nose or forehead when I’m feeling as if I have been emotionally abandoned by those who surround me.

…Sharing something that’s only meant for one, just because you know that it can be split between two.

…Making promises and consciously exceeding them because you can.

…Dreaming about the future with me because you know that I’m a dreamer.

…Bringing forward your playful side to expose your partner’s inner child in times when I feel like I can’t get out of my head.

…Using your two hands and hugging me in a way that makes me feel like I’m engulfed in your embrace.

…Initiating a late-night call to reiterate what the day had to offer, but to ultimately tell your partner that they are what you still dream about.

…Knowing when to end an argument and settle at your differences.

…Determining a positive approach in the shadow of negativity.

…Choosing to cherish your partner’s flaws as if they were their perfections.

…Being a best friend and lover all perfectlyย wrapped into one kindhearted, genuine entity.

What is love to you?

Leave a Reply

