Feast Your Eyes on Ipsy’s October “Beauty Candy” Makeup Bag: A Beauty Product Review

I don’t know about you but as a busy college student living hours away from the people I have grown close with, I’m taken aback by receiving mail, even summaries from my bank, because receiving mail regularly has always escaped me. A day that I receive anything in that little mailbox of mine is a thrill ride. So when I received my nail jewels that I had ordered what feels like years ago (traveling from China takes longer than I could ever imagine for something so small!) and my Ipsy makeup bag package for October, I was at a loss for words. Pure, radiating joy! Not only was I feeling the love (from myself, as I was the one that had ordered these fabulous things, for myself obviously!), but there’s a feeling of satisfaction knowing that I’m going to have some new colors and products to show off in the coming week. I’ve gotten significantly more interested in exploring makeup, hair treatments, and nail art this year, so my Ipsy subscription allows me to explore my beauty tool options without having to shell out every last dollar in my wallet. It’s actually pretty affordable when you realize how much each product is when you buy them separately. It gives me the chance to essentially try new looks and products “guilt free”, and I have a subscription for a whole year paid off, so I have ten more months of pretty things just itching to get to my mailbox next!

This month, I received 5 products! Yes, 5! I love when they load up my bag like they did this month. My initial thought was to not get too excited because on Instagram, quite a few people were complaining about getting hair and skin products when they had explicitly requested not to. I am one of those people that generally sticks to my ways when it comes to lotions and cleansers, so I agree with not wanting to waste a sample on either one of these categories. When I opened to metallic pink shipping package, there was my beautiful new makeup bag. This makeup bag was much less “cheap looking” than the one from last month (I wasn’t impressed with the bag the products came in last month, but that didn’t hold me back from loving what I received regardless!), and had this really pretty texturized, quilted blue print. I love the color and I love the way the bag feels! I was immediately drawn to the whole look and feel of it.

When I opened the bag, like I said, I had 5 different products to check out. I received a Doll 10 Highlighter, a VolumEyes Mascara Sample, a City Color Be Matte Lipstick, a Figs & Rouge Hand Cream in Mango Mandarin, and a sample package of Skyn Glacial Cleansing Cloths. In order to give you a full idea of what I received this month, I will review each product individually.

Doll 10 Highlighter

21lZlcul39L

I was extremely excited about this product. I’ve just recently taken up the art of face contouring and am continuing to research it and advance my skills (it’s definitely a process, especially for someone like me who, until recently, knew very little about how to use makeup to its fullest potential). When I opened this, however, I was a bit disheartened by the subtlety of it at first swab. When I brushed my finger across the surface, the pigment was practically invisible. When I contour, I like to be able to see how the makeup changes the look, especially when I highlight. If I’m going to highlight my cheek bones, I want there to be a difference when I apply the makeup or there’s no reason to apply it. When I applied it, although it took several strokes of the palette, it did end up having a pretty, dewey finish. The finished product wasn’t as monumentally great as I thought it would be, but I could see this product coming to good use at some point. It still has a good amount of usage potential. What I also noticed, too, which others may or may not mind, was that the highlighter wasn’t as creamy as I thought it would be. I usually use fairly creamy highlighters but this one is reminiscent of the texture of cream eyeshadow. It’s going to take some getting used to.

This product is a bit on the pricier side (it’s $30 on the website), but if you’d like to try it out for yourself, CLICK HERE.

VolumEyes Mascara Sample

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 4.09.29 PM

I don’t have a fight to pick with this one. It does its job well. The volume of my eyelashes is much, much brighter and more defined than I thought it would be. I wish this product wasn’t a sample, but regardless, once I run out, I’ll be heading out to the store to give it another go. I’m not as picky about mascaras because as long as they don’t make my eyes feel like they’ve caught on fire every time the crumbs tumble into my eyes, I feel like they’re serving their purpose. That is, if they make me look like minnie mouse. Having a nice pair of thick eyelashes has been a long-time dream of mine, so I don’t protest to trying new products that will give me this effect. VolumEyes is a keeper!

If you’d like to check out this product (DO IT.), CLICK HERE.

City Color Be Matte Lipstick in Cappuccino

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 4.05.26 PM

Gosh, I wish I loved this lipstick more than I do. Lipstick is my thing. I love trying out new colors, bold shades that contrast with my clothes…A great lipstick can tie together any outfit perfectly. But this lipstick…This shade in particular has become really popular recently, as my sister had mentioned that Kylie Jenner had set off a coffee/nude lip craze. This color is just that. It’s very pretty in the tube, but I’m not sure of how I feel about it when it’s actually on my mouth. The problem is that, when I put my bronzer on, this lipstick makes me look like I legitimately have a nonexistent pucker. Like someone carved a hole where my mouth is supposed to be and left the lips unfinished. My lips are really thin as is…I’m trying to stay open to the idea of wearing a somewhat nude lip, and I will give this one another chance, but part of me wishes that they’d throw in a berry shade instead. Berry is more my scene, or actually red. Red would be exquisite.

If you’d like to try this lipstick, CLICK HERE.

Figs & Rouge Hand Cream in Mango Mandarin

Figs__amp__Rouge_Mango__amp__Mandarin_Shea_Butter_Hand_Cream_20ml___feelunique_com_Exclusive_1403779663

Ah, I did not want skin products. At all. On a scale from one to ten on how much I desire to smother myself in new skin creams, 1 being a firm “no” and 10 being a “grabby-handed” yes, I’d be a -5. NEGATIVE. FIVE. I didn’t want skin cream!

Despite my initial disappointment, however, the bottle of this lotion caught my eye immediately. It’s really cute and colorful. I wanted to give it a shot anyway. The smell is airy and light, which I love, and I have to say that it will suffice. If I were guaranteed to get a hand cream, I wouldn’t mind getting this one. I just have too many lotions, scrubs, and creams at home to even bother buying more. Berry lipstick, I still want you in my life.

If you’d like to try this hand cream, CLICK HERE.

Skyn Iceland Glacial Cleansing Cloths

product_36_0

Recently I had come to the conclusion that I was tired of using a scrub and astringent nightly to manage my skin and remove the makeup aftermath of the day. It burns (because of the condition of my acne), it gets dry, and it’s uncomfortable for at least a few minutes afterwards. I was on the verge of going to Target that afternoon when I received this package. I think it might’ve actually been destiny when I received the Skyn Cloths. They remove 90% of the makeup on their own, which says a lot because when I do makeup, it tends to stick to my skin like cement. These cleansing cloths do a beautiful job of cleaning up my skin and leaving the skin feeling fresh and actually clean. Granted I do still wash my skin with water afterwards because I am paranoid, but this sample was very impressive. It was only a sample, too, but came with a total of 10 cloths, which is a great deal for a sample! Samples, if you’re lucky, have just enough to get the job done once, but I think I’m equipped for the rest of the week! It’ll actually give me enough time to buy some on my own, now that I know what I’m looking for.

If you’d like to try these out, because they’re awesome, CLICK HERE.

I hope you guys enjoyed my review on the Ipsy bag I received for the month of October! If you can, I’d really appreciate if you give me a moment of your time and respond to the poll below.

If you have any other comments, feel more than welcome to comment on this post!

Have a beautiful day, lovelies! xo

Mandirito-signature-picture

Leave a Reply

