Sassy Saturday: Brights and Fall Style Highlights

sassy saturday

 

I am not one to follow seasonal trends as I don’t have the money and patience to research and coordinate/purchase my outfits to conform to what is believed to be “Fall ready” wardrobe. Sure, I like fall style, comfy sweaters, messy buns, accessorized with pumpkin spice (*barf* why?!) cups of coffee (who doesn’t love that? I mean….the coffee thing. Not the pumpkin spice. Again, barf.). I am all for comfortable and cute, but what college student has the means to buy a new wardrobe for every season? That is why I recycle and restyle my outfits based on the season. If it’s hot, which it inevitably always is except for the couple of days in Florida when we have what is widely known as, and forgive me if I am using the wrong term, “winter”. “Winter” is it? I don’t really know. Regardless, this Sassy Saturday will be all about what I enjoy during the fall, style wise and whatever else.

free-people-cascata-delle-maxi-cardigan-grey-combo-profile

 

One staple that I love year round but especially in the fall is the amazing maxi cardigan style. Ah, it’s gorgeous! I think it also helps even out all the short little dresses in my closet. When I wear something short, I like to balance it out with a cardigan that is significantly longer. Plus, it ends up making me look longer and taller, too, which is always a plus! However, so far, I’ve only found three maxi cardigans that fit the specific criteria of what I like. I want them to be matchable but not black preferably, patterns are a plus, and colors are crucial but if they’re done in a creative, tasteful way. I don’t want to go out looking like I upchucked a super sized bag of skittles onto myself.

090111-boots-slouchy-lead-400

This is also the ideal time to temporarily bring out the boots in my closet that are so tall they make my calves sweat on a regular Florida day. They’re beautiful, but are they appropriate for 95 degree weather? Not a chance in hell. I’m thinking maybe when I come home for a break I’ll gather up my boots and bring them back with me to celebrate the couple days of cold I’m hoping we’ll receive in the coming weeks! Wearing slouchy boots with dresses AND cardigans is about as wonderful as Fall style can get, and if you haven’t tried it yet, you basically haven’t lived. So please bring out the pairing for yourself and realize the beauty and functionality that it holds in this moderate weather!

 

legwarmers

 

 

Next up is the fad of leg warmers, which I currently don’t own but am secretly begging to try. Do they really keep your legs warm, and do I really need to be warmer than I already am for fashion sense? I think they look a bit silly and impractical with heels, but wouldn’t mind trying them with some boots. Maybe, just maybe, I will give them a chance this Fall, but I think they are very cute. I think I’d find myself wearing them at home more than anything because nothing says cozy like socks for your legs. Or something.

29d34eee38c1d96c911880ff6061fb33

 

 

 

Ever since I began my Tumblr all over again (for the blog), I came to realize how much I love brightly colored lipsticks, even the ones with the unconventional colors. I don’t know if I’d have the balls to go out with blue lips, but I have the temptation to try. For heaven’s sake, I’ve already bought a teal wig. Might as well give blue lips a shot, too. I’m still considering it, really. But I feel like this trend is rising, maybe even beyond Fall. I’ve seen quite a few divas lately working bright lips with their subtle Fall get ups and it feels inspiring. I feel like my problem with typical Fall-wear is that so much of it is dark and neutral. Blah. But with these lips? There’d be nothing dreary about any outfit! If I muster up the courage, I promise you guys will be the very first ones to know of my breakthrough!

$(KGrHqN,!q8E+0VpNY5GBQKirui!Jg~~60_35

 

And finally we have beanies! Beanies in every color, size, and texture! This is the one accessory I am tempted to basically pair with anything in any season, just because it’s such a cute, spunky addition to any look. Plus my style is very ambiguous. I have dominantly feminine pieces with dominantly masculine pieces. I pair my combat boots with my ruffled dresses. I like my style to be as spontaneous and quirky (I couldn’t find a more suited word, so I dearly apologize) as I am, and beanies add that kind of artistic flair that I desire in my outfits. Plus, if you’re having a bad hair day, they are quite possibly the best way to make it look like you’re going for something “effortlessly sporty” and secretly help tame the knotted beast if need be. When my hair gets rugged, a beanie will always be my go-to, and if I don’t have a beanie, well, I guess leaving the house just isn’t an option. Let’s hope it’s not an exam day

 

What Fall styles would you like to try this season, and which styles make you want to ditch the sweater weather for good?

Would you try some unconventional lip colors to spice up your look?

Comment below!

Mandirito-signature-picture

 

Leave a Reply

