Media Mondays: Cinderella to….Tinderella?

MediaMondaysTinder

 

Let’s try something a little different, shall we?

Introduction to “Media Mondays”!

Media is something that reaches our lives in a multitude of ways and contributes to our impression of the world around us. It introduces us to new concepts, cultural differences, passions, and so much more. As a Digital Media major, it’s a topic I am incredibly head-over-heels passionate about and I’d like to inject that passion into my writing more often. I love writing about makeup and other girly things, don’t get me wrong, but I have so many different passions and I feel that it is essential to incorporate all of my interests, instead of focusing on tutorials and reviews like I have lately! I will continue to do these kinds of posts, though, from time to time because I do admit it keeps me in touch with my feminine side! Haha.

With that being said, I’d like to try something a little different. Lately I’ve gotten some feedback that some of my readers really miss my Sassy Saturdays format and would like to see more of it in the future, so really, who am I to refuse? I love doing casual posts for you guys, and I love when you guys give me positive feedback! On Mondays, from this moment moving forward, I’d like to talk about media that has caught my eye recently, whether it’s a newly released flick, a cd worth noting, an app I’ve grown unhealthily addicted to, and so on, but in that format. So casual posts about media that’s worth spotlighting. As a side note, too, I will inform you if the post is sponsored or not, but generally speaking, I only sponsor concepts/apps/products that I personally believe in, and if it is a sponsored post, it won’t be included in Media Mondays. Media Mondays are strictly for me to gather my own thoughts.

 

WARNING: Here is a little side note for those who get offended by sexualized language or anything like that. You might want to stop reading at this point. The language that people on Tinder use isn’t all that clean and I want to keep this review as honest as possible. You have been warned. Turn back now before things get ugly. And weird. Mostly weird.

 


 

TinderSwipe

I’m going to jump right into this. Several people requested I do a type of “review” for an app that has recently grown exponentially in terms of popularity among the young adult community and college campuses everywhere: the infamous “Tinder” application. As a newly confirmed singleton, I initially Tinder3cringed at the idea but, through my clenched teeth and willpower to give you guys what you want because I love you, I decided to give it a chance for you guys (and of course for some laughs of my own). And let me just take a moment to say that this is not a dating app. Sure, it’s classified as one in the app store, but let it be known that dating isn’t part of the Tinder community’s primary agenda. Without sugar coating it, it’s a “hookup” app. The app finds people that fit the age preferences that you set as well as the distance preferences, and I kept mine very local and close to my age range. I’m going to be honest here. The app is pretty superficial. I mean, you swipe right if you think they’re cute (let’s be honest, you never get much from reading the bios, other than lots of “420 blaze it” references), andTinder1 swipe left if they remind you of your dad or family in general…. Or look like a creep. Or their one posted photo looks like a stock photo. Or all of the above. Simple as that.  And then you wait until they swipe right on you, if they do. If they do decide to grace you with their presence, then you can chat. It makes the whole thing feel pretty passive and impersonal. Included in this post are several chats that I have experienced with my “matches” made in heaven. In order to preserve their anonymity and save them from the embarrassment that they projected onto themselves by sending me conversations that were worth mentioning (and even more so worth denying that they ever Tinder2said, if asked), I’m going to block out names, pictures, and other identifying information and leave just the creepy, and hilarious, solicitations.The pictures I included are actual conversations that I’ve had on Tinder. So there are several kinds of people that use this app. There are the ones that lead into conversation with funny banter that had me laughing out loud when I read their pickup lines, there are the one’s that dive right in to the heart of the matter, asking for sexual favors and the like, there are the defensive ones that get hot and bothered five seconds after messaging with no immediate reply, there are the ones that want to tell you fun facts and then bail, and there are those who intend to create the most Tinder6boring, tedious conversation known to man with a complete stranger and see how long they can keep them engaging in painful smalltalk. And then there’s a select handful of people on there that do actually want something meaningful. After days of hardcore intense research, I’ve come to the conclusion that this app is just not for me (surprise, surprise). Personally, I’m not down for hooking up and I know for sure that, because of that reason, online dating just wouldn’t work for me. I need to feel conversational and intellectual Tinder8chemistry before I even consider dating someone, and there’s really not either of those things on here. But it was an interesting experience and there are no regrets on my end. If you’re looking for something less serious or you just want to meet some crazies and you have a few free moments to do so, go ahead and download the app, take it for a spin. It’s free on the app store, too, so there’s really no loss in trying it. I’m actually glad someone requested this just so I could see what all the fuss was about.

So here’s how it stacks up in my book:

  • Usefulness: 2/10 – I don’t see it having any use in my life other than for entertainment.
  • Entertainment: 8/10 – It’s funny, I’ll give it that. I met some pretty hilarious people on here, and even the weird ones had me laughing.
  • Overall Score: 5/10 – I wasn’t impressed with the app. Interesting, new concept, but it’s just not my thing.

If there are any other applications or any other types of media that you guys would like me to give a chance and review, you can send them to any of the following links:

I hope you enjoyed this post and I look forward to continuing on with Media Mondays in the future! Thank you for taking the time to continually read, subscribe, and share my work. It means a lot to me.

Have a wonderful (hopefully enlightened) day, and let me know about your experiences Tindering in the comments below!

siggy

Leave a Reply

