Media Mondays: Apple Watch Pre-Order/Release First Impressions!

Lately, there’s quite a lot of hype surrounding the release of the first generation Apple Watch, as Apple enthusiasts await the next supposedly life-changing product the company has in store. I have been using apple products (not devotedly, but often enough), and I have neither swayed for or against this product thus far. The interest in the smart watch, despite some consumers’ understanding, had occurred several years before the Apple Watch’s release without any meaningful success. This is one of the first instances when a smart watch is being released and consumers are actually itching to get their hands on it. But then again, it is Apple.

Maybe if I were more interested in wearing watches (which I’m clearly not), this would be a more fascinating product, but often I use my phone as my timekeeper so I don’t see a use of having a smart watch (YET) in my life. I feel as if the smart watch would be redundant, as I often have my phone in my hand, which basically holds the same capabilities. I could imagine it would prove to be more useful in a business setting than as a leisure-based purchase.

First and foremost, the product is a smart watch, which means the look and feel of the design are just as important as the advanced functions in the decision of Apple-Watch-logo-main1whether the product is worth the price tag. Aesthetically it is a sleek, sophisticated piece. I especially appreciate the fact that Apple released it with wristband variations to satisfy a larger audience. A metal band on a watch can be rather uncomfortable (pinching, hair grabbing and all that fun stuff that metal bands like to do), so having an option of a more casual, smooth band is essential.

A new feature that consumers might find interesting about this watch is the fitness tracker. It’s not always convenient to be carrying around your phone to record your fitness throughout the day (and especially during a workout!), so for those who find themselves constantly on the go, it may be beneficial to try this watch. As days go by and you record your activities, it encourages you to exceed apple-watch-activity-ringsyour goals by organizing your routine systematically so that you can access it and determine how long you’ve been sitting, standing, and moving throughout the day, pushing you to stay active.  I personally tend to record my fitness in the Notes app (it’s easily accessible and quick) on my phone which simply records but does not organize or interpret the information. I could imagine it would be motivating to have my workouts organized by time, activity, etc. and have explored several apps that claim to have such features, but have later realized that I personally do not need to have an advanced functioning workout organizing app. When it comes down to it, as long as I know which days I’ve completed my workouts and what machines I used on what weights, I’m perfectly able to make fitness goals on my own. I guess it’s just a matter of preference. I’m just not in desperate need of all the bells and whistles.

This watch carries many of the features that an iPhone already has, including but not limited to your synced calendar, on the go music, siri, navigationnotifications, local weather updates (or the weather updates in Cupertino if that’s what you’re feeling like checking), etc., with the addition of an “intimate” (yes, “intimate” is the word that was used, which seemed needlessly creepy) tap on the wrist that lets you know you have new content ready for viewing. I enjoy the fact that Apple is moving forward into new technologies and leading the way to bigger and better things, but I’m going to hold off on splurging for a first generation Smart Watch until I know what is in store down the line. For those of you who decide to make the purchase, I’d love to hear what you have to say about this technological trailblazer. Is this product mainly for the consumer that tends to forget their phone on a regular basis, but still manages to always remember their watch? Is this product for the Apple-hungry (that actually made me laugh because if I weren’t referring to the company, it would still make sense.), technology fein who wants to be able to see their calendar on multiple screens for reiteration of the fact that today’s leg day and they have a meeting at 5? Or is this a product that could convince even a skeptical realist like myself that it’s well worth the payout?

Would the Apple Watch be useful to you?

siggy

Leave a Reply

